About Us | Contact Us | Site Map  
Home / Learners / Education and Training / Federated Colleges  

Federated Colleges


Saskatchewan has four federated colleges: St. Thomas More College is federated with the University of Saskatchewan; Campion College, and Luther College and the First Nations University of Canada are federated with the University of Regina.

These colleges are financially and administratively independent from the university with which they are federated. They hire their own faculty and staff and offer their own courses.

Students enrolled in a federated college can study and grow in a small community, yet maintain access to all the resources of a large university campus.

Federated colleges maintain intellectual and educational communities within the university. They create a smaller college environment where it is possible to provide a supportive community for their students. This is of particular importance for students who are concerned about succeeding in a large institutional environment or who have been out of the educational system for several years.

Saskatchewan's federated colleges are involved in a wide range of disciplines in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences. The colleges provide personalized academic counseling to assist students who can select courses from other federated colleges and from the univeristy. Students interested in registering for pre-professional programs may do so through a federated college. Courses taught by the federated colleges carry the same credit as equivalent courses in the university. Students enrolled in a federated college have access to all of the financial aid and student support programs of the university.

Students interested in registering in a federated college must meet the university's general entrance requirements and should indicate on their application form the name of the college in which they wish to be registered. Students must meet all graduation requirements set out by the university and graduates receive degrees from the university.


Campion College

Campion College was established in 1917 as a Roman Catholic college administered by the Jesuit Fathers of Saskatchewan, and now its Board of Regents. Campion and its students are directly linked with the University of Regina and all its programs and services.

Campion College has a smaller student body which allows faculty and administrative staff to offer students extraordinary attention in areas of academic, personal and spiritual counseling, registration and other student services. The Campion College building has a newly renovated first floor with an expanded student lounge, coffee shop and Internet terminals.

Campion College
University of Regina
3737 Wascana Parkway

(306) 359-1232

Luther College

Luther College is a federated arts and science college associated with the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada and operated by its own Board of Regents. Luther students have access to the University of Regina and all its programs and services. In addition, Luther offers three unique programs to first year University of Regina students: the Horizons Interdisciplinary Program, the English-Science Program and the Cultural Studies Program.

Luther has a co-educational residence for students. The residence is open to all post-secondary students, although preference is given to students enrolled in the degree programs through Luther. The College provides personalized academic counseling and chaplains for counseling services.

Luther College
University of Regina

(306) 585-5025


St. Thomas More

St. Thomas More College (STM) is a Catholic liberal arts college federated with the University of Saskatchewan. This means that we are academically integrated with the U of S, but financially and legally independent. STM teaches U of S credit courses in cooperation with the College of Arts & Sciences to enhance student experience. Established by the Basilian Fathers in 1936, STM features an expanded facility, additional student services and financial support, a comprehensive campus ministry program, and many extra-curricular and leadership development activities for students.  We offer transition programming for new students including leaning communities, first-year cafes, and academic advising.

St Thomas More College
1437 College Drive


First Nations University of Canada

The Saskatchewan Indian Federated College was created in 1976 by a federation agreement between the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations and the University of Regina. This agreement provided for an independently administered university-college to serve the academic, cultural and spiritual needs of First Nations' students.

The new First Nations University of Canada opened its doors June 21, 2003. It offers programs and services in Regina, Saskatoon and Prince Albert. Programs are offered in 10 academic departments: School of Business, National School of Dental Therapy, English, Indian Communication Arts, Indian Education, Indian Fine Arts, Indian Language, Literature and Linguistics, Indian Social Work, Indian Studies and Science.

First Nations University of Canada
1 First Nations Way
(306) 790-5950 ext 2100


Home / Learners / Education and Training / Federated Colleges
  © 2003 SaskNetWork.   All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Statement   |   Disclaimer   |   Copyright  
For More Information  Email: sasknetwork@sasked.gov.sk.ca
Home / Job Seekers / Employers / Entrepreneurs / Learners / Youth
SaskJobs / Career Resources / Feature Links / CanSask / Career Hotline / Search Site